Private nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA

Harvard University

Online programs reported

In this release7,601 undergraduates · 307 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$19,066Aided students, per year
Completion rate
98%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
3.5%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$101,817System level, aided students
Campus setting
City: MidsizeInstitution location
School size
20,000 and aboveUndergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
LawDoctorate · CIP 22.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
622 awards · $291,490 median 4 years out
Public HealthMaster's · CIP 51.22 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
408 awards · $153,029 median 4 years out
Public AdministrationMaster's · CIP 44.04 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
263 awards · $177,149 median 4 years out
EconomicsBachelor's · CIP 45.06 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
242 awards · $155,592 median 4 years out
Computer ScienceBachelor's · CIP 11.07 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
184 awards · $203,169 median 4 years out
MedicineDoctorate · CIP 51.12 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
182 awards · $108,149 median 4 years out
Sustainability StudiesMaster's · CIP 30.33 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
182 awards
Sustainability StudiesGraduate certificate · CIP 30.33 · Every credential in this field can be finished fully online
169 awards
Show the other 295 fields
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01
141 awards
HistoryMaster's · CIP 54.01
61 awards
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
49 awards
MarketingGraduate certificate · CIP 52.14
35 awards
PhysicsDoctorate · CIP 40.08
29 awards
PhysicsMaster's · CIP 40.08
24 awards
HistoryDoctorate · CIP 54.01
22 awards
PhilosophyGraduate certificate · CIP 38.01
18 awards
LiteratureGraduate certificate · CIP 23.14
9 awards
MusicDoctorate · CIP 50.09
8 awards
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
4 awards
MusicMaster's · CIP 50.09
1 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$19,066
In-state tuition and fees
$61,676
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$61,676
Published cost of attendance
$85,540
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
16%
Median federal debt of completers
$14,000

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
98%
First-year retention
98%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$99,572
Earnings 10 years after entry
$101,817
Undergraduates with federal loans
4.4%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
3.5%
Applicants
56,937
Admitted
1,965
SAT middle range
1500 to 1580
ACT middle range
34 to 36

Suggested planning category

Aim HighFrom reported data

  • The overall acceptance rate is 3.5 percent, which supports planning this as a stretch.
  • Overall rates are not program-specific and do not include qualitative factors.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school rank
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Recommendations
Required to be considered for admission
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Admission test scores
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
English proficiency test
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
Other test
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
Work experience
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Required to be considered for admission
Legacy status
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingCity: Midsize
Size band20,000 and above
Undergraduates7,601
Highest award offeredDoctor's degree
Carnegie classificationDoctoral Universities: Highest Research Activity
AccreditorNew England Commission on Higher Education
CountyMiddlesex County
SystemIndependent or not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
Yes
Undergraduate distance courses
Yes
Fields where every credential can be finished online
45
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
1
Real EstateGraduate certificate
Fully online in this release

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in Massachusetts, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Tufts University

Medford, MA

7,061 undergraduates · 182 fields of study

Avg. net price
$39,998
Completion
94%
Acceptance
10%
Online programs reported
Compare Tufts University