Fields of study · Public Administration and Social Service Professions

Public Policy Analysis

CIP 44.05. 248 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 5,774 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate13203Not reportedNot reported
Associate29Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's1142,061$73,721$53,280 to $104,068
Graduate certificate72392$80,781$64,036 to $99,658
Master's1302,866$93,020$70,186 to $121,540
Doctorate54243$119,220$88,172 to $156,517
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Public Policy Analysis credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 36 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
258 awards$103,071 median 4 years out
Princeton UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Princeton, NJ · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
227 awards$107,792 median 4 years out
University of Southern CaliforniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Los Angeles, CA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Doctorate
191 awards$94,114 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Doctorate
170 awards$129,978 median 4 years out
Brandeis UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Waltham, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
136 awards$75,580 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
118 awards$78,054 median 4 years out
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate
108 awards$94,237 median 4 years out
American UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Graduate certificate
98 awards$98,588 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
89 awards$97,926 median 4 years out
Georgetown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's
86 awards$110,634 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
79 awards$126,767 median 4 years out
George Washington UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
71 awards$94,862 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 248 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

78 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 44.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Medical and Health Services ManagersManagement$123,860597,080
Political ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$142,0805,540
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Social Science Research AssistantsLife, physical, and social science$61,99030,640
Political Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$98,07016,970
Health Specialties Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$107,310221,270
Education Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$75,35060,830
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.