Fields of study · Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities

CIP 24.01. 2,204 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 537,561 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate506136,902$44,906$29,208 to $64,121
Associate1,494361,237$44,125$28,893 to $61,611
Bachelor's1,07437,397$53,072$35,750 to $73,322
Graduate certificate70213$65,226$46,757 to $87,474
Master's1961,671$65,716$45,452 to $93,350
Doctorate27141$69,534$41,047 to $103,000
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 502 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Santa Monica CollegePublic, 4-year · Santa Monica, CA · Associate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
9,669 awards$46,864 median 4 years out
Lone Star College SystemPublic, 4-year · The Woodlands, TX · Associate · Fully online option reported
6,485 awards$47,859 median 4 years out
Miami Dade CollegePublic, 4-year · Miami, FL · Associate
6,449 awards$45,753 median 4 years out
Valencia CollegePublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Associate
6,079 awards$44,728 median 4 years out
Utah State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Logan, UT · Certificate, Associate, Bachelor's
5,437 awards$44,401 median 4 years out
Dallas CollegePublic, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Associate
5,426 awards$48,725 median 4 years out
Saddleback CollegePublic, 2-year · Mission Viejo, CA · Associate, Certificate
5,098 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Utah Valley UniversityPublic, 4-year · Orem, UT · Associate, Certificate, Bachelor's
4,583 awards$43,421 median 4 years out
Bakersfield CollegePublic, 4-year · Bakersfield, CA · Associate, Certificate
4,030 awards$45,584 median 4 years out
Broward CollegePublic, 4-year · Fort Lauderdale, FL · Associate
3,513 awards$44,117 median 4 years out
Golden West CollegePublic, 2-year · Huntington Beach, CA · Certificate, Associate
3,358 awards$35,791 median 4 years out
Moorpark CollegePublic, 4-year · Moorpark, CA · Associate, Certificate
2,885 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Pima Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Tucson, AZ · Certificate, Associate
2,813 awards$46,830 median 4 years out
Southern New Hampshire UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Manchester, NH · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
2,735 awards$66,656 median 4 years out
Ventura CollegePublic, 2-year · Ventura, CA · Associate, Certificate
2,642 awards$32,408 median 4 years out
Southern Utah UniversityPublic, 4-year · Cedar City, UT · Associate, Certificate, Bachelor's
2,448 awards$47,382 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 2,204 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

1,517 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 24.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.