Fields of study · Psychology

Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

CIP 42.28. 800 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 40,824 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate59485$54,445Not reported
Associate1670$44,389$19,542 to $57,457
Bachelor's2014,650$50,523$35,237 to $66,891
Graduate certificate2713,501$65,509$48,198 to $84,220
Master's60527,484$65,184$47,881 to $83,770
Doctorate2984,634$99,878$69,652 to $126,700
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 149 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Capella UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,921 awards$66,014 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
1,827 awards$51,976 median 4 years out
Florida Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Melbourne, FL · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Bachelor's
1,271 awards$77,258 median 4 years out
National UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
1,111 awards$78,497 median 4 years out
Pepperdine UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Malibu, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
885 awards$70,729 median 4 years out
University of Phoenix-ArizonaPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
695 awards$82,522 median 4 years out
Nova Southeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Fort Lauderdale, FL · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
531 awards$64,896 median 4 years out
Purdue University GlobalPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
493 awards$47,339 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Master's
490 awards$66,540 median 4 years out
Adams State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Alamosa, CO · Master's, Doctorate
443 awards$56,207 median 4 years out
Walden UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
394 awards$56,934 median 4 years out
Alliant International University-San DiegoPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
377 awards$86,459 median 4 years out
Adler UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
375 awards$61,328 median 4 years out
Northwestern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Evanston, IL · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
373 awards$60,758 median 4 years out
The Chicago School at ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
367 awards$73,751 median 4 years out
Albizu University-San JuanPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Juan, PR · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
356 awards$51,235 median 4 years out
William James CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Newton, MA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
264 awards$72,262 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 800 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

443 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 42.28. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Human Resources ManagersManagement$149,280220,660
Training and Development ManagersManagement$133,00048,050
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Human Resources SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$75,940912,430
Management AnalystsBusiness and financial operations$101,860898,280
Training and Development SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$69,280458,300
Industrial-Organizational PsychologistsLife, physical, and social science$193,950790
Clinical and Counseling PsychologistsLife, physical, and social science$100,58075,990
School PsychologistsLife, physical, and social science$95,99063,940
Psychologists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$110,84018,820
Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and AdvisorsCommunity and social service$64,330353,310
Counselors, All OtherCommunity and social service$50,86028,580
Psychology Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$80,34041,530
Coaches and ScoutsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$47,320248,950
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.