Fields of study · Visual and Performing Arts

Fine and Studio Arts

CIP 50.07. 1,465 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 36,414 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1324,942$36,104$19,118 to $53,165
Associate4035,104$31,650$18,320 to $44,432
Bachelor's1,05823,118$41,367$26,241 to $56,653
Graduate certificate4486$26,285Not reported
Master's2822,952$49,079$29,496 to $66,541
Doctorate59212$68,718$51,460 to $81,910
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Fine and Studio Arts credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 34 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Mesa Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Mesa, AZ · Certificate, Associate
911 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Rio Salado CollegePublic, 4-year · Tempe, AZ · Certificate · Fully online option reported
321 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Phoenix CollegePublic, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
299 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Full Sail UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Winter Park, FL · Bachelor's, Associate
298 awards$38,124 median 4 years out
Scottsdale Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Scottsdale, AZ · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
241 awards$49,440 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
176 awards$49,478 median 4 years out
Bard CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Annandale-On-Hudson, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
174 awards$34,667 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
171 awards$53,300 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,465 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

510 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 50.07. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,62093,560
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
ArchivistsEducational instruction and library$64,5507,970
CuratorsEducational instruction and library$63,42012,150
Museum Technicians and ConservatorsEducational instruction and library$51,44012,310
Art DirectorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$114,85053,070
Craft ArtistsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$46,0804,580
Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and IllustratorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$55,49011,220
Special Effects Artists and AnimatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$102,03019,970
Artists and Related Workers, All OtherArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$71,2406,930
PhotographersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$44,66051,760
Jewelers and Precious Stone and Metal WorkersProduction$52,54022,440
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.