Fields of study · Physical Sciences

Chemistry

CIP 40.05. 1,377 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 18,762 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate3489$50,784$32,396 to $78,984
Associate2391,015$51,597$35,492 to $76,247
Bachelor's1,14611,925$65,120$48,307 to $84,018
Graduate certificate3747Not reportedNot reported
Master's3272,535$82,937$60,941 to $109,811
Doctorate2083,151$115,386$83,589 to $152,460
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Chemistry credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 23 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate
211 awards$56,179 median 4 years out
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
142 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Emory UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
139 awards$79,034 median 4 years out
Stony Brook UniversityPublic, 4-year · Stony Brook, NY · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
125 awards$71,783 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
114 awards$79,311 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
114 awards$86,197 median 4 years out
University of California-DavisPublic, 4-year · Davis, CA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate
114 awards$73,365 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,377 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

257 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 40.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Computer Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$116,580435,370
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
ChemistsLife, physical, and social science$91,24082,770
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including HealthLife, physical, and social science$82,22089,250
Food Science TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$52,13014,600
Chemical TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$60,39057,540
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including HealthLife, physical, and social science$55,09034,670
Forensic Science TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$72,06019,120
Chemistry Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$93,25019,980
Environmental Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$94,9806,690
Physics Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$100,31013,090
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.