Fields of study · Visual and Performing Arts

Visual and Performing Arts, General

CIP 50.01. 560 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 7,068 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate102550$40,600$22,936 to $55,725
Associate2021,865$32,799$17,714 to $49,115
Bachelor's2894,391$41,688$25,771 to $59,858
Graduate certificate1439$70,535$56,878 to $83,098
Master's43206$59,460$35,858 to $88,562
Doctorate617$55,489Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Visual and Performing Arts, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 29 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Full Sail UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Winter Park, FL · Bachelor's, Certificate, Associate
422 awards$36,870 median 4 years out
Victor Valley CollegePublic, 2-year · Victorville, CA · Associate, Certificate
84 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Utah Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Saint George, UT · Certificate, Bachelor's, Associate, Master's
68 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
66 awards$47,546 median 4 years out
Ocean County CollegePublic, 2-year · Toms River, NJ · Associate
65 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Academy of Art UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Francisco, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
59 awards$51,874 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
59 awards$42,219 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 560 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

76 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 50.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,62093,560
Art DirectorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$114,85053,070
Craft ArtistsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$46,0804,580
Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and IllustratorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$55,49011,220
Special Effects Artists and AnimatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$102,03019,970
Artists and Related Workers, All OtherArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$71,2406,930
Graphic DesignersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$62,960197,830
PhotographersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$44,66051,760
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.