Fields of study · Legal Professions and Studies

Non-Professional Legal Studies

CIP 22.00. 292 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 4,496 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate42631$78,149$49,491 to $111,218
Associate92455$41,222$26,413 to $54,566
Bachelor's1692,956$61,959$42,689 to $82,578
Graduate certificate1049Not reportedNot reported
Master's28398$65,153$43,407 to $95,364
Doctorate17Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Non-Professional Legal Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 29 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Certificate, Graduate certificate
194 awards$97,028 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
165 awardsProgram earnings not reported
American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
114 awards$61,532 median 4 years out
Post UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Waterbury, CT · Associate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
74 awards$42,376 median 4 years out
Auburn UniversityPublic, 4-year · Auburn, AL · Bachelor's
66 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Texas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Marcos, TX · Graduate certificate, Master's
63 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Suffolk UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's
62 awards$70,274 median 4 years out
University of MiamiPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Coral Gables, FL · Bachelor's
46 awards$99,836 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 292 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

38 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 22.00. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Paralegals and Legal AssistantsLegal$62,890392,880
Legal Support Workers, All OtherLegal$72,11046,760
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.