Fields of study · Education

Educational/Instructional Media Design

CIP 13.05. 383 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 8,402 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate41597$53,869Not reported
Associate3116$41,929Not reported
Bachelor's21150$55,308$32,743 to $77,690
Graduate certificate187902$75,166$57,154 to $95,092
Master's2876,419$70,644$56,435 to $89,382
Doctorate42218$89,809$72,076 to $117,170
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Educational/Instructional Media Design credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 200 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Master's · Fully online option reported
1,655 awards$71,469 median 4 years out
University of West GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Carrollton, GA · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
361 awards$74,243 median 4 years out
Foothill CollegePublic, 4-year · Los Altos Hills, CA · Certificate
295 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Lone Star College SystemPublic, 4-year · The Woodlands, TX · Certificate, Associate
190 awards$34,994 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
180 awards$127,546 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
165 awards$66,550 median 4 years out
Towson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Towson, MD · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
155 awards$77,782 median 4 years out
Kennesaw State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Kennesaw, GA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
146 awards$70,302 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Master's · Fully online option reported
137 awards$75,799 median 4 years out
Wilkes UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Wilkes-Barre, PA · Master's · Fully online option reported
119 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Utah State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Logan, UT · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
93 awards$86,107 median 4 years out
Purdue University GlobalPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
83 awards$79,398 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Graduate certificate, Master's, Certificate, Doctorate
78 awards$79,901 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
68 awards$78,410 median 4 years out
University of West AlabamaPublic, 4-year · Livingston, AL · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
65 awards$60,086 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate
62 awards$64,738 median 4 years out
Arkansas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Russellville, AR · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
59 awards$49,760 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 383 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

88 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 13.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Training and Development SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$69,280458,300
Librarians and Media Collections SpecialistsEducational instruction and library$68,270133,790
Instructional CoordinatorsEducational instruction and library$77,440227,760
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.