Fields of study · Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services

Computer Programming

CIP 11.02. 641 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 15,319 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate4338,094$56,556$35,112 to $84,410
Associate3674,193$58,070$37,249 to $83,473
Bachelor's1102,380$83,439$54,167 to $114,436
Graduate certificate26172Not reportedNot reported
Master's17480$148,974$97,394 to $205,237
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computer Programming credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 118 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
367 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Valencia CollegePublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Certificate, Associate
352 awards$63,999 median 4 years out
Diablo Valley CollegePublic, 2-year · Pleasant Hill, CA · Certificate, Associate
325 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Stark State CollegePublic, 2-year · North Canton, OH · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
305 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Dallas CollegePublic, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Certificate, Associate
297 awards$58,181 median 4 years out
DePaul UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's, Master's
270 awards$101,315 median 4 years out
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
248 awardsProgram earnings not reported
College of DuPagePublic, 2-year · Glen Ellyn, IL · Certificate, Associate
208 awards$87,336 median 4 years out
Orange Coast CollegePublic, 2-year · Costa Mesa, CA · Certificate, Associate
202 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Portland Community CollegePublic, 2-year · Portland, OR · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
197 awards$66,990 median 4 years out
Amarillo CollegePublic, 2-year · Amarillo, TX · Certificate, Associate
161 awards$45,751 median 4 years out
DSDTPrivate for-profit, Less than 2-year · Detroit, MI · Certificate
138 awardsProgram earnings not reported
ECPI UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Virginia Beach, VA · Bachelor's, Associate
127 awards$62,392 median 4 years out
Rowan UniversityPublic, 4-year · Glassboro, NJ · Bachelor's, Certificate
125 awards$60,493 median 4 years out
St Petersburg CollegePublic, 4-year · St. Petersburg, FL · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
123 awards$76,683 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 641 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

99 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 11.02. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer Network Support SpecialistsComputer and mathematical$76,220146,190
Computer ProgrammersComputer and mathematical$100,39092,230
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and TestersComputer and mathematical$104,300186,740
Web DevelopersComputer and mathematical$92,65070,190
Web and Digital Interface DesignersComputer and mathematical$104,000113,330
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.