Fields of study · English Language and Literature/Letters

Literature

CIP 23.14. 119 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 709 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate946$57,951$44,130 to $72,246
Associate1774Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's69425$46,173$26,191 to $63,857
Graduate certificate1920Not reportedNot reported
Master's19123$55,337$40,045 to $74,161
Doctorate321Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Literature credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 12 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
130 awards$59,921 median 4 years out
Pace UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's
33 awards$58,051 median 4 years out
The New SchoolPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's
32 awards$42,674 median 4 years out
American UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Bachelor's, Master's
30 awards$54,436 median 4 years out
Hamilton CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Clinton, NY · Bachelor's
17 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Boise State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Boise, ID · Bachelor's, Master's
13 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Simmons UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's
12 awards$53,492 median 4 years out
Bennington CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Bennington, VT · Bachelor's
11 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Allegheny CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Meadville, PA · Bachelor's
8 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's
8 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Bachelor's
6 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 119 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

12 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 23.14. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
English Language and Literature Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,76057,720
EditorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$77,92091,690
Writers and AuthorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$76,91047,940
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.