Fields of study · Education

Education, General

CIP 13.01. 897 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 26,061 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate69669$47,863$26,626 to $67,256
Associate1781,931$41,787$29,719 to $52,438
Bachelor's3746,614$49,808$38,641 to $60,792
Graduate certificate1551,326$69,448$52,638 to $83,726
Master's42112,936$65,824$52,724 to $82,084
Doctorate1132,585$72,062$54,090 to $112,804
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Education, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 175 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Walden UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
994 awards$64,694 median 4 years out
National UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
779 awards$77,748 median 4 years out
Northcentral UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
551 awards$80,493 median 4 years out
Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
293 awards$73,350 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Doctorate, Associate, Graduate certificate, Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
284 awards$57,647 median 4 years out
Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
278 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Nova Southeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Fort Lauderdale, FL · Doctorate · Fully online option reported
268 awards$81,299 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Certificate, Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Doctorate
252 awards$67,460 median 4 years out
Central State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Wilberforce, OH · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
242 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Ashford UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
217 awards$49,645 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 897 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

333 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 13.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Education Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$75,35060,830
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.