Fields of study · Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields

Engineering-Related Fields

CIP 15.15. 236 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 8,567 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1929$88,893$70,051 to $100,608
Associate1337$59,733$25,454 to $79,810
Bachelor's871,800$89,619$71,039 to $110,158
Graduate certificate58739$121,041$94,956 to $140,359
Master's1645,840$125,651$97,217 to $158,811
Doctorate17122$171,574$112,761 to $235,535
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Engineering-Related Fields credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 66 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of ArkansasPublic, 4-year · Fayetteville, AR · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
390 awards$116,774 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
381 awards$127,277 median 4 years out
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
306 awards$144,681 median 4 years out
Stanford UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Stanford, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
203 awards$206,093 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
180 awards$94,143 median 4 years out
Stevens Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hoboken, NJ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
175 awards$138,535 median 4 years out
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
166 awards$126,105 median 4 years out
George Washington UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
142 awards$139,567 median 4 years out
Indiana Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Fort Wayne, IN · Master's · Fully online option reported
118 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Arkansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Jonesboro, AR · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
107 awards$102,712 median 4 years out
Clarkson UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Potsdam, NY · Bachelor's, Master's
102 awards$88,793 median 4 years out
Excelsior UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Albany, NY · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
102 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 236 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

74 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 15.15. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Facilities ManagersManagement$106,660156,180
Industrial Production ManagersManagement$126,060246,250
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Industrial EngineersArchitecture and engineering$102,440365,740
Engineers, All OtherArchitecture and engineering$122,930154,070
Industrial Engineering Technologists and TechniciansArchitecture and engineering$66,12075,570
Engineering Technologists and Technicians, Except Drafters, All OtherArchitecture and engineering$78,35059,930
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Commercial and Industrial DesignersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$83,91033,490
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.