Online colleges

Check the program, not just the online label.

2,016 colleges report at least one field of study where every credential can be finished fully at a distance, and 64 operate entirely online. A college that offers some distance courses may still not offer your exact degree online.

Find online options
What the data says

Fully online field

Reported by
The institution itself
Means
Every credential in the field can be completed at a distance
Does not mean
Self-paced, or open in your state
Live class times
Not in federal data

Every result links to the college for current format, tuition, and state authorization.

Find a program

Start with the exact field and level.

Every filter is optional, and the list updates as you change one.

This filters by where the college is based. State authorization for online study must be confirmed with the college.

2,016 of 5,800 colleges report a fully online field

Reported online availability

  • 169 fields fully onlineThis college operates entirely at a distance

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Liberty University

Lynchburg, VA

Avg. net price
$29,357
Completion
65%
Fully online fields
156

Reported online availability

  • 156 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 155 fields fully onlineThis college operates entirely at a distance

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private for-profit, 4-year

Capella University

Minneapolis, MN

Avg. net price
$17,956
Completion
20%
Fully online fields
135

Reported online availability

  • 135 fields fully onlineThis college operates entirely at a distance

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 115 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 111 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

National University

San Diego, CA

Avg. net price
$22,878
Completion
43%
Fully online fields
102

Reported online availability

  • 102 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private for-profit, 4-year

Walden University

Minneapolis, MN

Avg. net price
$33,817
Completion
Not reported
Fully online fields
98

Reported online availability

  • 98 fields fully onlineThis college operates entirely at a distance

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 89 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 87 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 86 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private for-profit, 4-year

Grand Canyon University

Phoenix, AZ

Avg. net price
$22,472
Completion
43%
Fully online fields
84

Reported online availability

  • 84 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Excelsior University

Albany, NY

Avg. net price
Not reported
Completion
Not reported
Fully online fields
81

Reported online availability

  • 81 fields fully onlineThis college operates entirely at a distance

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 81 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 79 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Bellevue University

Bellevue, NE

Avg. net price
$17,550
Completion
33%
Fully online fields
78

Reported online availability

  • 78 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 77 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 73 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Wilmington University

New Castle, DE

Avg. net price
$15,644
Completion
20%
Fully online fields
70

Reported online availability

  • 70 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Private for-profit, 4-year

Ashford University

San Diego, CA

Avg. net price
$31,266
Completion
11%
Fully online fields
69

Reported online availability

  • 69 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 68 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 68 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 67 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Reported online availability

  • 67 fields fully onlineOther fields may offer some distance courses

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Showing 24 colleges with the most fully online fields.

Planning note: Aim High, Realistic, and Safe are planning categories. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Distance education flag reported by the institution for this field of study: whether none, some, or all credentials in the field can be completed fully at a distance.

Before you apply

Six details the word "online" cannot answer.

  1. 01
    Exact availability

    Is your field and credential fully online right now?

  2. 02
    State authorization

    Can the program enroll students where you live?

  3. 03
    Schedule

    Are class meetings live, recorded, or self-paced?

  4. 04
    In-person work

    Are there labs, clinical placements, exams, or campus visits?

  5. 05
    Total cost

    Do online fees or different tuition rules change the estimate?

  6. 06
    Student support

    When can online students reach advisors, tutoring, and career services?

Data boundary

Federal distance data is a useful first filter.

It shows that a field and award level can be completed remotely at a college. It does not prove that the exact marketed program is open, fully asynchronous, available in every state, or priced the same as an on-campus degree.

Read the online data rules →