Fields of study · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Sustainability Studies

CIP 30.33. 275 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 4,251 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate50355$59,056$40,809 to $79,821
Associate1871Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's1381,517$57,887$37,231 to $77,143
Graduate certificate59419Not reportedNot reported
Master's1001,847$76,897$59,678 to $102,020
Doctorate1842Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Sustainability Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 43 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
379 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
137 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of South FloridaPublic, 4-year · Tampa, FL · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
60 awards$64,880 median 4 years out
University of IowaPublic, 4-year · Iowa City, IA · Graduate certificate, Master's
57 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Certificate, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
55 awards$67,208 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Master's
53 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northwestern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Evanston, IL · Master's, Certificate, Bachelor's
46 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 275 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

30 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 30.33. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Conservation ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$73,01025,950
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including HealthLife, physical, and social science$82,22089,250
Urban and Regional PlannersLife, physical, and social science$89,32044,230
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including HealthLife, physical, and social science$55,09034,670
Environmental Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$94,9806,690
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.