Fields of study · Education

Student Counseling and Personnel Services

CIP 13.11. 493 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 13,708 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1021Not reportedNot reported
Associate14Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's614Not reportedNot reported
Graduate certificate1851,119$64,774$52,462 to $89,460
Master's46712,100$60,111$48,192 to $74,890
Doctorate86450$83,794$63,959 to $107,148
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Student Counseling and Personnel Services credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 93 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's
391 awards$56,174 median 4 years out
Capella UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
274 awards$60,258 median 4 years out
University of the CumberlandsPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Williamsburg, KY · Master's · Fully online option reported
223 awards$52,175 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Master's · Fully online option reported
202 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Walden UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Master's · Fully online option reported
194 awards$57,267 median 4 years out
Arkansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Jonesboro, AR · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
182 awards$52,385 median 4 years out
Angelo State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Angelo, TX · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
177 awards$61,622 median 4 years out
University of Missouri-ColumbiaPublic, 4-year · Columbia, MO · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
170 awards$67,109 median 4 years out
University of La VernePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · La Verne, CA · Master's
144 awards$79,892 median 4 years out
National UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Master's · Fully online option reported
138 awards$78,979 median 4 years out
Montclair State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Montclair, NJ · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
133 awards$66,833 median 4 years out
William & MaryPublic, 4-year · Williamsburg, VA · Master's, Doctorate
130 awards$56,870 median 4 years out
Concordia University-IrvinePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Irvine, CA · Master's · Fully online option reported
128 awards$91,553 median 4 years out
Kansas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Manhattan, KS · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
124 awards$56,320 median 4 years out
St Bonaventure UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Saint Bonaventure, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
114 awards$60,413 median 4 years out
Florida State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Tallahassee, FL · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
113 awards$59,114 median 4 years out
Wake Forest UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Winston-Salem, NC · Master's
111 awards$57,982 median 4 years out
Clemson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Clemson, SC · Master's, Graduate certificate
110 awards$58,602 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
99 awards$71,699 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 493 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

301 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 13.11. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and AdvisorsCommunity and social service$64,330353,310
Residential AdvisorsPersonal care and service$42,24084,760
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.