Fields of study · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and Analysis

CIP 30.26. 59 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 379 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate625Not reportedNot reported
Associate220Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's32179$40,892$16,742 to $67,166
Graduate certificate1192Not reportedNot reported
Master's1234$61,087$33,307 to $83,152
Doctorate929Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and Analysis credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 6 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Empire State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Saratoga Springs, NY · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
72 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Graduate certificate, Certificate, Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
67 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Occidental CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Los Angeles, CA · Bachelor's
19 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northwestern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Evanston, IL · Graduate certificate, Master's
14 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Willamette UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salem, OR · Bachelor's
14 awardsProgram earnings not reported
American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
10 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Tufts UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Medford, MA · Bachelor's
9 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
8 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Mount Holyoke CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · South Hadley, MA · Bachelor's
7 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Luther CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Decorah, IA · Bachelor's
4 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Pratt Institute-MainPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Brooklyn, NY · Bachelor's
2 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 59 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

1 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 30.26. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$85,02011,300
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.