Fields of study · Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology

CIP 26.02. 774 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 13,480 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate62Not reportedNot reported
Associate1724Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's70011,313$65,466$44,889 to $88,432
Graduate certificate22187Not reportedNot reported
Master's161893$80,271$61,566 to $113,681
Doctorate1591,061$112,683$70,874 to $159,820
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 9 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
149 awards$75,157 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
129 awards$63,419 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
128 awards$64,112 median 4 years out
Stony Brook UniversityPublic, 4-year · Stony Brook, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
117 awards$60,648 median 4 years out
Princeton UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Princeton, NJ · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
95 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's
90 awards$90,612 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 774 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

120 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 26.02. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Biochemists and BiophysicistsLife, physical, and social science$127,41033,830
MicrobiologistsLife, physical, and social science$87,99018,940
Biological Scientists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$98,92055,850
Medical Scientists, Except EpidemiologistsLife, physical, and social science$103,410172,340
Food Science TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$52,13014,600
Biological TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$57,51069,620
Biological Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$84,62050,190
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.