Fields of study · Mathematics and Statistics

Applied Mathematics

CIP 27.03. 413 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 10,461 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1625Not reportedNot reported
Associate32Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's2794,061$91,532$63,368 to $127,252
Graduate certificate42117Not reportedNot reported
Master's1945,912$116,060$85,199 to $161,426
Doctorate77344$123,729$80,097 to $167,352
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Applied Mathematics credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 20 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Stony Brook UniversityPublic, 4-year · Stony Brook, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
305 awards$82,200 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
293 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Fordham UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Bronx, NY · Bachelor's, Master's
269 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Washington University in St LouisPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · St. Louis, MO · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
233 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Brown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Providence, RI · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
204 awards$157,822 median 4 years out
Stevens Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hoboken, NJ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
169 awards$134,886 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
154 awards$170,689 median 4 years out
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Master's, Doctorate
141 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
134 awards$144,429 median 4 years out
Vanderbilt UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Nashville, TN · Master's
132 awards$216,406 median 4 years out
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
131 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Master's, Bachelor's
131 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 413 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

55 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 27.03. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Financial and Investment AnalystsBusiness and financial operations$102,740361,980
Financial Risk SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$117,33063,850
Financial Specialists, All OtherBusiness and financial operations$81,100132,130
ActuariesComputer and mathematical$130,00026,670
MathematiciansComputer and mathematical$126,7102,030
StatisticiansComputer and mathematical$105,65029,030
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Mathematical Science Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$81,4903,720
Biological Scientists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$98,92055,850
EconomistsLife, physical, and social science$124,72017,790
Mathematical Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$79,94047,670
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.