Fields of study · Visual and Performing Arts

Music

CIP 50.09. 1,369 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 24,863 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate180761$33,318$17,479 to $48,525
Associate3171,944$34,056$19,743 to $49,228
Bachelor's1,05414,257$42,892$26,048 to $58,755
Graduate certificate117662$40,504$19,679 to $62,396
Master's3235,745$48,285$28,079 to $65,736
Doctorate1061,494$59,592$38,708 to $76,817
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Music credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 33 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Berklee College of MusicPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate
803 awards$38,617 median 4 years out
Los Angeles Film SchoolPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Hollywood, CA · Associate, Bachelor's
622 awards$33,046 median 4 years out
Indiana University-BloomingtonPublic, 4-year · Bloomington, IN · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Certificate
441 awards$44,312 median 4 years out
Manhattan School of MusicPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Certificate
354 awards$40,812 median 4 years out
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
316 awards$55,705 median 4 years out
Full Sail UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Winter Park, FL · Bachelor's, Associate
310 awards$39,466 median 4 years out
The Juilliard SchoolPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Certificate
282 awards$46,372 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
269 awards$52,777 median 4 years out
University of RochesterPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Rochester, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate
254 awards$34,888 median 4 years out
Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate
238 awards$51,713 median 4 years out
The New SchoolPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
237 awards$26,925 median 4 years out
University of Southern CaliforniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Los Angeles, CA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
207 awards$34,124 median 4 years out
Musicians InstitutePrivate for-profit, 4-year · Hollywood, CA · Certificate, Associate, Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
205 awards$37,763 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
193 awards$42,960 median 4 years out
Florida State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Tallahassee, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
183 awards$44,454 median 4 years out
University of MiamiPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Coral Gables, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate, Graduate certificate
177 awards$29,090 median 4 years out
Oberlin CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Oberlin, OH · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate, Master's
162 awards$43,343 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
156 awards$52,132 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,369 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

407 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 50.09. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,62093,560
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Music Directors and ComposersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$73,71012,540
Musicians and SingersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and mediaNot reported36,180
Disc Jockeys, Except RadioArts, design, entertainment, sports, and mediaNot reported7,920
Sound Engineering TechniciansArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$73,13013,080
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.