Fields of study · Natural Resources and Conservation

Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy

CIP 03.02. 196 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 3,070 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate50250$56,263$39,335 to $73,611
Associate36177$42,169$30,402 to $58,193
Bachelor's891,365$56,185$41,328 to $74,677
Graduate certificate37278$72,516$59,069 to $92,218
Master's64982$72,563$52,558 to $95,399
Doctorate1618$76,718$66,932 to $89,480
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 17 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Oregon State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Corvallis, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
227 awards$52,730 median 4 years out
University of DenverPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Denver, CO · Master's, Graduate certificate
185 awards$88,331 median 4 years out
University of MiamiPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Coral Gables, FL · Master's, Bachelor's, Certificate, Doctorate
124 awards$58,938 median 4 years out
American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
100 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of ConnecticutPublic, 4-year · Storrs, CT · Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
79 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Rhode IslandPublic, 4-year · Kingston, RI · Master's, Bachelor's, Certificate, Graduate certificate
70 awards$68,281 median 4 years out
University of IdahoPublic, 4-year · Moscow, ID · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
60 awards$56,153 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
54 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Auburn UniversityPublic, 4-year · Auburn, AL · Bachelor's
43 awards$40,076 median 4 years out
Hocking CollegePublic, 2-year · Nelsonville, OH · Associate
41 awards$42,181 median 4 years out
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Graduate certificate
39 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 196 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

44 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 03.02. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except GamblingManagement$79,52037,980
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Compliance OfficersBusiness and financial operations$80,730417,070
Conservation ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$73,01025,950
ForestersLife, physical, and social science$76,40010,430
EconomistsLife, physical, and social science$124,72017,790
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$101,11037,100
Social Science Research AssistantsLife, physical, and social science$61,99030,640
Forestry and Conservation Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$101,4201,520
Economics Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$123,92011,560
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$76,59013,150
First-Line Supervisors of Police and DetectivesProtective service$106,040154,610
First-Line Supervisors of Firefighting and Prevention WorkersProtective service$93,53099,140
FirefightersProtective service$59,280345,990
Forest Fire Inspectors and Prevention SpecialistsProtective service$56,8702,780

4 more occupations are linked to this field.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.