Fields of study · Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics

Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics

CIP 16.09. 1,000 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 8,904 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1481,464$53,696$34,385 to $72,756
Associate134934$40,755$24,870 to $58,362
Bachelor's8205,177$55,000$38,411 to $73,324
Graduate certificate4962Not reportedNot reported
Master's174930$60,728$46,427 to $78,882
Doctorate74337$69,860$54,681 to $87,524
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 42 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Weber State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ogden, UT · Associate, Certificate, Bachelor's
150 awards$61,799 median 4 years out
Boise State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Boise, ID · Certificate, Bachelor's
143 awards$56,877 median 4 years out
Idaho State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Pocatello, ID · Certificate, Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
106 awards$42,232 median 4 years out
University of ArizonaPublic, 4-year · Tucson, AZ · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
100 awards$48,487 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
92 awards$63,942 median 4 years out
Pasadena City CollegePublic, 2-year · Pasadena, CA · Certificate, Associate
90 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Middlebury CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Middlebury, VT · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
72 awards$61,632 median 4 years out
Bakersfield CollegePublic, 4-year · Bakersfield, CA · Associate
66 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Brigham Young UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Provo, UT · Bachelor's, Master's
59 awards$63,189 median 4 years out
University of IowaPublic, 4-year · Iowa City, IA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
53 awards$54,530 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,000 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

230 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 16.09. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$79,35019,830
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Interpreters and TranslatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$60,17052,060
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.