Fields of study · Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services

Computer Science

CIP 11.07. 1,082 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 78,099 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate72422$77,690$34,871 to $111,585
Associate3015,643$62,283$37,466 to $91,416
Bachelor's76344,577$107,009$74,830 to $152,038
Graduate certificate47372$125,742$97,163 to $162,388
Master's29825,425$145,571$108,475 to $208,641
Doctorate1281,660$178,476$122,550 to $261,974
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computer Science credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 105 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Oregon State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Corvallis, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
1,130 awards$121,405 median 4 years out
Southern New Hampshire UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Manchester, NH · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
1,099 awards$115,259 median 4 years out
Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
1,096 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Stevens Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hoboken, NJ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
1,065 awards$171,253 median 4 years out
Stanford UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Stanford, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
828 awards$255,667 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
814 awards$223,309 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate
691 awards$146,685 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,082 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

414 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 11.07. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer and Information Systems ManagersManagement$175,140670,570
Information Security AnalystsComputer and mathematical$129,180190,650
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Computer Network Support SpecialistsComputer and mathematical$76,220146,190
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Computer ProgrammersComputer and mathematical$100,39092,230
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and TestersComputer and mathematical$104,300186,740
Web DevelopersComputer and mathematical$92,65070,190
Web and Digital Interface DesignersComputer and mathematical$104,000113,330
Computer Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$116,580435,370
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.