Fields of study · Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

CIP 14.19. 449 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 42,647 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1164Not reportedNot reported
Associate46305$72,444$53,577 to $83,483
Bachelor's40333,082$92,135$77,715 to $109,121
Graduate certificate37119Not reportedNot reported
Master's2417,268$115,974$97,429 to $140,629
Doctorate1601,809$131,070$106,875 to $161,760
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Mechanical Engineering credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 22 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
819 awards$102,572 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
428 awards$89,663 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
418 awards$97,113 median 4 years out
Oregon State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Corvallis, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
382 awards$93,740 median 4 years out
Colorado School of MinesPublic, 4-year · Golden, CO · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
378 awards$97,087 median 4 years out
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
357 awards$103,384 median 4 years out
Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
348 awards$98,113 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
312 awards$97,946 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 449 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

403 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 14.19. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Cost EstimatorsBusiness and financial operations$78,740224,220
Aerospace EngineersArchitecture and engineering$134,96067,710
Mechanical EngineersArchitecture and engineering$104,110296,810
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.