Fields of study · Social Sciences

Economics

CIP 45.06. 924 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 41,517 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate31289Not reportedNot reported
Associate1454,401$53,068$35,780 to $81,035
Bachelor's76430,319$82,686$58,184 to $116,323
Graduate certificate60162$118,588Not reported
Master's2414,947$100,743$74,382 to $133,995
Doctorate1401,399$135,560$99,377 to $184,676
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Economics credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 45 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
703 awards$116,510 median 4 years out
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
698 awards$159,578 median 4 years out
Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
610 awards$138,425 median 4 years out
Boston CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chestnut Hill, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
427 awards$121,337 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
405 awards$155,592 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
358 awards$96,723 median 4 years out
Northwestern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Evanston, IL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Certificate
341 awards$126,006 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 924 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

388 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 45.06. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Market Research Analysts and Marketing SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$78,760899,580
StatisticiansComputer and mathematical$105,65029,030
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
EconomistsLife, physical, and social science$124,72017,790
Survey ResearchersLife, physical, and social science$69,4608,290
Social Science Research AssistantsLife, physical, and social science$61,99030,640
Economics Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$123,92011,560
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.