Fields of study · Education

Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

CIP 13.12. 1,887 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 104,400 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate43311,267$34,631$22,707 to $46,633
Associate65411,625$37,656$24,793 to $49,794
Bachelor's1,19150,391$47,382$38,431 to $56,096
Graduate certificate3393,755$58,414$46,801 to $76,227
Master's73626,929$59,916$48,965 to $72,958
Doctorate59433$81,822$62,135 to $106,136
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 378 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
2,917 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
2,896 awards$56,764 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
1,139 awards$52,482 median 4 years out
University of the CumberlandsPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Williamsburg, KY · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
660 awards$45,849 median 4 years out
Georgia Southern UniversityPublic, 4-year · Statesboro, GA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
630 awards$58,762 median 4 years out
Ashford UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's · Fully online option reported
609 awards$43,748 median 4 years out
University of West AlabamaPublic, 4-year · Livingston, AL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
606 awards$59,095 median 4 years out
National Louis UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
592 awards$62,529 median 4 years out
University of Phoenix-ArizonaPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
549 awards$49,626 median 4 years out
North Seattle CollegePublic, 4-year · Seattle, WA · Certificate, Bachelor's, Associate
540 awards$61,250 median 4 years out
Washington State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Pullman, WA · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
487 awards$61,304 median 4 years out
Walden UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Minneapolis, MN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
481 awards$55,860 median 4 years out
Kennesaw State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Kennesaw, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
470 awards$51,386 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,887 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

1,251 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 13.12. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Training and Development SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$69,280458,300
Education Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$75,35060,830
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Preschool Teachers, Except Special EducationEducational instruction and library$38,140478,780
Kindergarten Teachers, Except Special EducationEducational instruction and library$62,680108,870
Elementary School Teachers, Except Special EducationEducational instruction and library$63,9701,388,390
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$64,370620,090
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language InstructorsEducational instruction and library$61,54037,310
Self-Enrichment TeachersEducational instruction and library$46,800332,110
Teachers and Instructors, All OtherEducational instruction and library$66,140113,790
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.