Fields of study · Engineering

Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering

CIP 14.10. 460 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 26,537 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate18485$53,634$37,160 to $80,226
Associate59273$65,477$33,950 to $88,077
Bachelor's39214,817$100,647$84,635 to $122,440
Graduate certificate64155$129,570Not reported
Master's2398,708$133,654$107,420 to $171,817
Doctorate1532,099$157,305$129,276 to $205,872
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 34 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
577 awards$137,523 median 4 years out
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
556 awards$209,847 median 4 years out
Texas A&M University-College StationPublic, 4-year · College Station, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
431 awards$103,789 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
384 awards$121,478 median 4 years out
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
307 awards$155,483 median 4 years out
Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
262 awards$148,887 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
258 awards$99,442 median 4 years out
University of Wisconsin-MadisonPublic, 4-year · Madison, WI · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
255 awards$129,743 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
250 awards$156,103 median 4 years out
Stanford UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Stanford, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
230 awards$181,705 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 460 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

314 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 14.10. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Aerospace EngineersArchitecture and engineering$134,96067,710
Computer Hardware EngineersArchitecture and engineering$161,74076,660
Electrical EngineersArchitecture and engineering$120,630198,750
Electronics Engineers, Except ComputerArchitecture and engineering$130,22096,900
Engineers, All OtherArchitecture and engineering$122,930154,070
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.