Fields of study · Theology and Religious Vocations

Theological and Ministerial Studies

CIP 39.06. 447 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 13,915 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate53250$28,811$15,531 to $47,827
Associate49230$40,367$27,234 to $52,032
Bachelor's2291,923$44,535$30,931 to $62,472
Graduate certificate111542$65,779$41,125 to $95,244
Master's3258,943$61,300$40,587 to $91,229
Doctorate1542,027$71,982$47,428 to $110,193
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Theological and Ministerial Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 129 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate, Bachelor's
1,753 awards$56,700 median 4 years out
Midwestern Baptist Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Kansas City, MO · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's, Associate, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
473 awards$68,891 median 4 years out
Southeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lakeland, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate, Doctorate
443 awards$44,106 median 4 years out
Southeastern Baptist Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Wake Forest, NC · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Associate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
321 awards$71,527 median 4 years out
Fuller Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pasadena, CA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
283 awards$66,602 median 4 years out
New Orleans Baptist Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New Orleans, LA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Associate, Certificate, Graduate certificate
261 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Asbury Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Wilmore, KY · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
257 awards$59,725 median 4 years out
Moody Bible InstitutePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
209 awards$38,907 median 4 years out
Franciscan University of SteubenvillePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Steubenville, OH · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
204 awards$55,071 median 4 years out
Regent UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Virginia Beach, VA · Doctorate, Master's, Graduate certificate
203 awards$60,973 median 4 years out
Oral Roberts UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Tulsa, OK · Master's, Bachelor's, Certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
169 awards$45,360 median 4 years out
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Master's, Doctorate
157 awards$58,405 median 4 years out
Concordia SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Saint Louis, MO · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
138 awards$97,155 median 4 years out
Emory UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Master's, Doctorate
137 awards$63,450 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Bachelor's
129 awards$61,789 median 4 years out
Pentecostal Theological SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cleveland, TN · Doctorate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
128 awards$53,286 median 4 years out
Western SeminaryPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Portland, OR · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
127 awards$61,070 median 4 years out
Biola UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · La Mirada, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
119 awards$62,024 median 4 years out
University of Notre DamePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Notre Dame, IN · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
119 awards$58,621 median 4 years out
Andrews UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Berrien Springs, MI · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's, Certificate
114 awards$67,739 median 4 years out
Boston CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chestnut Hill, MA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
111 awards$64,786 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Doctorate, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate
107 awards$65,938 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 447 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

134 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 39.06. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
ClergyCommunity and social service$60,81057,200
Religious Workers, All OtherCommunity and social service$45,28015,760
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$80,26020,460
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.