Fields of study · Engineering

Biomedical/Medical Engineering

CIP 14.05. 254 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 13,836 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1073Not reportedNot reported
Associate811$78,651$57,755 to $88,521
Bachelor's1978,558$93,451$74,134 to $113,859
Graduate certificate25147Not reportedNot reported
Master's1783,714$106,375$84,793 to $130,445
Doctorate1401,333$131,848$93,154 to $174,349
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Biomedical/Medical Engineering credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 8 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
372 awards$115,950 median 4 years out
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
271 awards$112,081 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
249 awards$93,434 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
226 awards$99,024 median 4 years out
University of PennsylvaniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
211 awards$132,238 median 4 years out
Clemson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Clemson, SC · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
200 awards$93,705 median 4 years out
Drexel UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
180 awards$101,362 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
176 awards$120,467 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
150 awards$88,078 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 254 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

151 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 14.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Bioengineers and Biomedical EngineersArchitecture and engineering$109,37023,480
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.