Fields of study · Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services

Information Science/Studies

CIP 11.04. 454 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 21,783 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate73896$58,325$36,778 to $83,680
Associate91765$56,799$37,816 to $78,267
Bachelor's2709,274$85,294$59,774 to $116,854
Graduate certificate69313$74,146$54,632 to $125,805
Master's16110,344$112,705$75,540 to $153,142
Doctorate34191$126,925$89,342 to $203,151
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Information Science/Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 95 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of Maryland Global CampusPublic, 4-year · Adelphi, MD · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
2,256 awards$100,208 median 4 years out
The University of Texas at DallasPublic, 4-year · Richardson, TX · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
863 awards$122,669 median 4 years out
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
491 awards$55,765 median 4 years out
Pace UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's
315 awards$101,275 median 4 years out
Syracuse UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Syracuse, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
297 awards$104,842 median 4 years out
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
294 awards$127,158 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Master's · Fully online option reported
271 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of South FloridaPublic, 4-year · Tampa, FL · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
233 awards$93,933 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's
198 awards$136,425 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 454 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

213 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 11.04. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer and Information Systems ManagersManagement$175,140670,570
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Web and Digital Interface DesignersComputer and mathematical$104,000113,330
Computer Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$116,580435,370
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.