Fields of study · Social Sciences

International Relations and National Security Studies

CIP 45.09. 446 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 11,926 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate26104$103,583$76,711 to $131,487
Associate2118Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's3546,612$66,596$46,031 to $87,798
Graduate certificate45456$77,457$57,183 to $104,826
Master's1174,634$95,627$68,941 to $122,748
Doctorate18102$99,694$67,948 to $135,906
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded International Relations and National Security Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 32 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Doctorate
868 awards$114,716 median 4 years out
American UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
789 awards$73,865 median 4 years out
George Washington UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
704 awards$76,751 median 4 years out
Georgetown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Bachelor's
639 awards$118,569 median 4 years out
Tufts UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Medford, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
302 awards$108,836 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
226 awards$69,399 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's
225 awards$93,034 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Master's
202 awards$70,510 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's
189 awards$66,661 median 4 years out
University of DenverPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Denver, CO · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
162 awards$59,895 median 4 years out
Syracuse UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Syracuse, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
159 awards$68,049 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
156 awards$71,436 median 4 years out
University of ChicagoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Graduate certificate, Master's, Bachelor's
156 awards$83,492 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
146 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Yale UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New Haven, CT · Bachelor's, Master's
117 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 446 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

156 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 45.09. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Political ScientistsLife, physical, and social science$142,0805,540
Political Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$98,07016,970
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.