Fields of study · Mathematics and Statistics

Statistics

CIP 27.05. 285 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 8,677 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate20205$82,722$58,559 to $103,027
Bachelor's2074,213$92,425$64,564 to $125,467
Graduate certificate60222$101,297$70,473 to $115,203
Master's1673,551$123,816$89,177 to $164,755
Doctorate84486$156,733$114,323 to $215,667
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Statistics credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 16 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Master's, Graduate certificate
455 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
273 awards$104,047 median 4 years out
Texas A&M University-College StationPublic, 4-year · College Station, TX · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
143 awards$130,436 median 4 years out
Brigham Young UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Provo, UT · Bachelor's, Master's
137 awards$96,164 median 4 years out
Johns Hopkins UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Baltimore, MD · Master's, Graduate certificate
135 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
129 awards$156,743 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Certificate, Doctorate, Master's
115 awards$98,409 median 4 years out
Emory UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Bachelor's, Master's
107 awards$93,446 median 4 years out
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
101 awards$152,782 median 4 years out
Cornell UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Ithaca, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
85 awards$111,090 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 285 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

60 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 27.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
ActuariesComputer and mathematical$130,00026,670
MathematiciansComputer and mathematical$126,7102,030
StatisticiansComputer and mathematical$105,65029,030
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Survey ResearchersLife, physical, and social science$69,4608,290
Mathematical Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$79,94047,670
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.