Fields of study · Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs

Journalism

CIP 09.04. 524 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 10,979 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate63169$55,137$31,851 to $83,631
Associate131566$41,496$29,900 to $53,401
Bachelor's3718,999$56,278$40,588 to $73,923
Graduate certificate1939$62,918Not reported
Master's751,187$69,034$49,344 to $90,647
Doctorate719$86,616Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Journalism credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 26 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of Missouri-ColumbiaPublic, 4-year · Columbia, MO · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
484 awards$69,016 median 4 years out
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
242 awards$57,461 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Master's
239 awards$60,729 median 4 years out
University of KansasPublic, 4-year · Lawrence, KS · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate
190 awards$62,394 median 4 years out
Syracuse UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Syracuse, NY · Bachelor's, Master's
188 awards$70,404 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
135 awards$58,150 median 4 years out
University of OregonPublic, 4-year · Eugene, OR · Bachelor's, Master's
128 awards$55,615 median 4 years out
The University of AlabamaPublic, 4-year · Tuscaloosa, AL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
121 awards$55,043 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's
106 awards$65,617 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 524 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

210 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 09.04. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Communications Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,58029,420
Broadcast Announcers and Radio Disc JockeysArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$47,34021,240
News Analysts, Reporters, and JournalistsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$62,20039,250
EditorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$77,92091,690
Writers and AuthorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$76,91047,940
PhotographersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$44,66051,760
Film and Video EditorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$75,42025,610
Proofreaders and Copy MarkersOffice and administrative support$51,1204,580
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.