Fields of study · Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Microbiological Sciences and Immunology

CIP 26.05. 202 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 4,631 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate210Not reportedNot reported
Associate43Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's1182,939$62,582$44,047 to $83,205
Graduate certificate1167Not reportedNot reported
Master's111941$84,750$60,140 to $109,387
Doctorate119671$101,435$67,906 to $148,718
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Microbiological Sciences and Immunology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 6 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
513 awards$79,163 median 4 years out
Brigham Young UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Provo, UT · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
110 awards$66,603 median 4 years out
Montana State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Bozeman, MT · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
74 awards$60,221 median 4 years out
Clemson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Clemson, SC · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
60 awards$81,526 median 4 years out
Michigan State UniversityPublic, 4-year · East Lansing, MI · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
57 awards$61,953 median 4 years out
University of MiamiPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Coral Gables, FL · Bachelor's, Doctorate
54 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
50 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
50 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
50 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 202 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

58 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 26.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Medical and Health Services ManagersManagement$123,860597,080
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
MicrobiologistsLife, physical, and social science$87,99018,940
Biological Scientists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$98,92055,850
EpidemiologistsLife, physical, and social science$87,22012,090
Medical Scientists, Except EpidemiologistsLife, physical, and social science$103,410172,340
Food Science TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$52,13014,600
Biological TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$57,51069,620
Biological Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$84,62050,190
Health Specialties Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$107,310221,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.