Fields of study · Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services

Computer and Information Sciences, General

CIP 11.01. 1,604 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 115,562 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate57520,797$50,984$31,514 to $73,655
Associate64812,815$54,246$35,954 to $76,280
Bachelor's88944,576$92,374$64,179 to $128,180
Graduate certificate1431,248$112,196$81,070 to $151,406
Master's36634,932$124,201$87,810 to $176,258
Doctorate1101,194$154,538$104,895 to $217,438
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computer and Information Sciences, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 280 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

DeVry University-IllinoisPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Lisle, IL · Certificate, Associate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
3,533 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
1,801 awards$145,909 median 4 years out
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
1,755 awards$104,024 median 4 years out
Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,551 awards$108,836 median 4 years out
Southern New Hampshire UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Manchester, NH · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,420 awards$81,533 median 4 years out
University of Michigan-Ann ArborPublic, 4-year · Ann Arbor, MI · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
1,367 awards$172,904 median 4 years out
University of Cincinnati-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Cincinnati, OH · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
1,313 awards$121,485 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
1,304 awards$110,754 median 4 years out
University of Phoenix-ArizonaPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's, Associate, Graduate certificate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,250 awards$75,805 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
1,183 awards$142,495 median 4 years out
University of the CumberlandsPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Williamsburg, KY · Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's, Associate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
1,096 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
1,080 awards$98,526 median 4 years out
University of Wisconsin-MadisonPublic, 4-year · Madison, WI · Bachelor's, Certificate, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
1,042 awards$119,655 median 4 years out
University of PennsylvaniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
977 awards$222,544 median 4 years out
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
935 awards$193,154 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
932 awards$126,268 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,604 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

670 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 11.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer and Information Systems ManagersManagement$175,140670,570
Computer Systems AnalystsComputer and mathematical$105,850519,530
Information Security AnalystsComputer and mathematical$129,180190,650
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Computer Network ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$134,050179,740
Database AdministratorsComputer and mathematical$104,62069,990
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Network and Computer Systems AdministratorsComputer and mathematical$99,130314,340
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and TestersComputer and mathematical$104,300186,740
Web and Digital Interface DesignersComputer and mathematical$104,000113,330
Computer Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$116,580435,370
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.