Fields of study · Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services

Computer Software and Media Applications

CIP 11.08. 724 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 15,346 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate4454,460$41,400$23,342 to $64,298
Associate3262,184$41,737$25,614 to $59,270
Bachelor's1774,270$58,894$35,549 to $88,211
Graduate certificate60305$107,086$80,941 to $153,305
Master's794,126$120,083$84,035 to $163,199
Doctorate81Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computer Software and Media Applications credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 113 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
788 awards$129,737 median 4 years out
Berklee College of MusicPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate
441 awards$40,186 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Master's · Fully online option reported
346 awards$162,691 median 4 years out
Valencia CollegePublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Certificate, Associate
315 awards$46,230 median 4 years out
School of Visual ArtsPrivate for-profit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's
308 awards$67,483 median 4 years out
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Bachelor's
307 awards$158,542 median 4 years out
Academy of Art UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · San Francisco, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
291 awards$87,998 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's
272 awards$89,704 median 4 years out
The New SchoolPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's
266 awards$75,792 median 4 years out
DePaul UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Chicago, IL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
217 awards$158,667 median 4 years out
Atlantic UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Guaynabo, PR · Bachelor's
207 awards$21,309 median 4 years out
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
190 awards$59,766 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate
138 awards$140,032 median 4 years out
Illinois State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Normal, IL · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Master's
126 awardsProgram earnings not reported
George Washington UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
123 awards$134,232 median 4 years out
Atlanta Technical CollegePublic, 2-year · Atlanta, GA · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
120 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 724 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

128 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 11.08. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer and Information Systems ManagersManagement$175,140670,570
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Database AdministratorsComputer and mathematical$104,62069,990
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Computer ProgrammersComputer and mathematical$100,39092,230
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Web DevelopersComputer and mathematical$92,65070,190
Web and Digital Interface DesignersComputer and mathematical$104,000113,330
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Computer Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$96,98035,480
Career/Technical Education Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$63,820114,110
Special Effects Artists and AnimatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$102,03019,970
Graphic DesignersArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$62,960197,830
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.