Fields of study · Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology

CIP 26.11. 213 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 3,576 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1137Not reportedNot reported
Associate21Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's91712$86,713$56,786 to $132,795
Graduate certificate51192$117,834$90,517 to $181,769
Master's1352,036$110,121$83,634 to $151,267
Doctorate88598$153,586$109,576 to $206,149
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 11 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
146 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Doctorate
111 awards$104,263 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
78 awards$155,888 median 4 years out
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
74 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Washington University in St LouisPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · St. Louis, MO · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
63 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Emory UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Master's, Doctorate
59 awards$120,576 median 4 years out
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
54 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Brown UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Providence, RI · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
47 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of LouisvillePublic, 4-year · Louisville, KY · Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate
47 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 213 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

16 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 26.11. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Computer Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$116,580435,370
MathematiciansComputer and mathematical$126,7102,030
StatisticiansComputer and mathematical$105,65029,030
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Mathematical Science Occupations, All OtherComputer and mathematical$81,4903,720
Biological Scientists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$98,92055,850
Medical Scientists, Except EpidemiologistsLife, physical, and social science$103,410172,340
Biological TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$57,51069,620
Mathematical Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$79,94047,670
Biological Science Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$84,62050,190
Health Specialties Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$107,310221,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.