Fields of study · Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services

Business/Commerce, General

CIP 52.01. 935 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 56,112 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate2455,752$60,097$38,056 to $90,112
Associate51217,388$49,927$33,112 to $69,450
Bachelor's40224,493$68,407$48,204 to $94,571
Graduate certificate59376$129,561$86,977 to $186,690
Master's1337,909$125,988$83,879 to $189,086
Doctorate25194$149,621$117,462 to $212,845
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Business/Commerce, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 242 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Indiana University-BloomingtonPublic, 4-year · Bloomington, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate, Doctorate
3,530 awards$105,583 median 4 years out
DeVry University-IllinoisPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Lisle, IL · Certificate, Associate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
1,275 awards$62,848 median 4 years out
Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's
1,143 awards$113,620 median 4 years out
University of Missouri-ColumbiaPublic, 4-year · Columbia, MO · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
1,026 awards$84,534 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
1,003 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Strayer University-Global RegionPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Washington, DC · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
886 awards$64,016 median 4 years out
Lone Star College SystemPublic, 4-year · The Woodlands, TX · Associate · Fully online option reported
757 awards$50,531 median 4 years out
Indiana University-IndianapolisPublic, 4-year · Indianapolis, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
639 awards$70,903 median 4 years out
American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Bachelor's, Associate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
586 awards$61,313 median 4 years out
Strayer University-GeorgiaPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Chamblee, GA · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
552 awards$64,016 median 4 years out
Mesa Community CollegePublic, 4-year · Mesa, AZ · Certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
500 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Cuesta CollegePublic, 2-year · San Luis Obispo, CA · Certificate
428 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of KentuckyPublic, 4-year · Lexington, KY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
415 awards$69,451 median 4 years out
University of Missouri-St LouisPublic, 4-year · Saint Louis, MO · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
410 awards$65,373 median 4 years out
Montgomery CollegePublic, 2-year · Rockville, MD · Associate
387 awards$69,485 median 4 years out
Strayer University-VirginiaPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Arlington, VA · Bachelor's, Associate · Fully online option reported
367 awards$64,016 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 935 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

503 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 52.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Chief ExecutivesManagement$213,990204,350
General and Operations ManagersManagement$105,7703,503,020
Sales ManagersManagement$148,270637,080
Administrative Services ManagersManagement$114,130263,960
Facilities ManagersManagement$106,660156,180
Industrial Production ManagersManagement$126,060246,250
Transportation, Storage, and Distribution ManagersManagement$107,230221,180
Construction ManagersManagement$114,990380,360
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except GamblingManagement$79,52037,980
Social and Community Service ManagersManagement$80,390209,330
Personal Service Managers, All OtherManagement$69,77010,450
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Cost EstimatorsBusiness and financial operations$78,740224,220
Project Management SpecialistsBusiness and financial operations$102,3201,066,670
Management AnalystsBusiness and financial operations$101,860898,280

1 more occupations are linked to this field.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.