Fields of study · Psychology

Research and Experimental Psychology

CIP 42.27. 329 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 21,357 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate15208Not reportedNot reported
Associate531$50,417Not reported
Bachelor's21417,687$55,695$38,073 to $76,465
Graduate certificate30170$64,095$44,247 to $82,157
Master's1402,300$63,216$45,622 to $88,293
Doctorate120961$103,410$72,819 to $143,120
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Research and Experimental Psychology credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 18 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
919 awards$63,315 median 4 years out
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Master's
495 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Purdue University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Master's
401 awards$52,170 median 4 years out
University of OregonPublic, 4-year · Eugene, OR · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
387 awards$62,255 median 4 years out
Brigham Young UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Provo, UT · Bachelor's, Doctorate
322 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 329 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

88 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 42.27. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
StatisticiansComputer and mathematical$105,65029,030
Biological Scientists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$98,92055,850
Medical Scientists, Except EpidemiologistsLife, physical, and social science$103,410172,340
Life Scientists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$93,7507,460
Clinical and Counseling PsychologistsLife, physical, and social science$100,58075,990
Psychologists, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$110,84018,820
Social Science Research AssistantsLife, physical, and social science$61,99030,640
Child, Family, and School Social WorkersCommunity and social service$59,550392,550
Psychology Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$80,34041,530
Health Specialties Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$107,310221,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.