Fields of study · Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences

Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services

CIP 19.05. 272 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 3,851 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate62347$42,790$18,511 to $61,618
Associate107335$39,400$20,421 to $63,728
Bachelor's1041,956$54,945$39,143 to $70,678
Graduate certificate2758$69,384$57,486 to $83,535
Master's791,137$66,523$51,097 to $82,211
Doctorate1218$96,500$75,881 to $124,343
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 26 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

The University of AlabamaPublic, 4-year · Tuscaloosa, AL · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
227 awards$64,913 median 4 years out
University of HoustonPublic, 4-year · Houston, TX · Bachelor's, Master's
149 awards$49,724 median 4 years out
Lamar UniversityPublic, 4-year · Beaumont, TX · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
111 awards$58,631 median 4 years out
Johnson & Wales University-OnlinePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Providence, RI · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
83 awards$50,571 median 4 years out
Texas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Marcos, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
68 awards$52,836 median 4 years out
Wayne State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Detroit, MI · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
68 awards$58,871 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Doctorate
64 awards$70,118 median 4 years out
University of New EnglandPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Biddeford, ME · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
61 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Simmons UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
46 awards$74,038 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 272 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

65 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 19.05. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Food Service ManagersManagement$69,390238,430
Family and Consumer Sciences Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$75,8702,770
Dietitians and NutritionistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$76,40077,570
Dietetic TechniciansHealthcare practitioners and technical$37,64031,560
First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving WorkersFood preparation and serving$44,0801,223,240
Cooks, Institution and CafeteriaFood preparation and serving$37,450441,050
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.