Fields of study · Engineering

Computer Engineering

CIP 14.09. 423 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 19,833 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate19400$68,110$42,108 to $98,869
Associate29218$65,316$41,939 to $85,276
Bachelor's36812,024$109,015$86,299 to $145,170
Graduate certificate4162Not reportedNot reported
Master's1606,718$136,736$108,298 to $186,553
Doctorate65411$167,302$113,071 to $207,002
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Computer Engineering credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 35 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Northeastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
1,232 awards$135,416 median 4 years out
San Jose State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Jose, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
635 awardsProgram earnings not reported
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
510 awards$127,201 median 4 years out
North Carolina State University at RaleighPublic, 4-year · Raleigh, NC · Master's, Bachelor's, Certificate, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
417 awards$110,416 median 4 years out
Santa Clara UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Santa Clara, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate
409 awards$231,929 median 4 years out
Western Governors UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
388 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Iowa State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ames, IA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
251 awards$105,753 median 4 years out
Carnegie Mellon UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Pittsburgh, PA · Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
239 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Kennesaw State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Kennesaw, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
217 awards$103,054 median 4 years out
Stevens Institute of TechnologyPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Hoboken, NJ · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
214 awards$128,177 median 4 years out
Duke UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Durham, NC · Bachelor's, Master's
181 awards$174,522 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 423 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

210 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 14.09. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Architectural and Engineering ManagersManagement$171,270220,260
Computer Network ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$134,050179,740
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and TestersComputer and mathematical$104,300186,740
Computer Hardware EngineersArchitecture and engineering$161,74076,660
Engineering Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$109,27040,270
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.