Fields of study · Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs

Radio, Television, and Digital Communication

CIP 09.07. 649 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 17,461 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1772,098$33,711$19,198 to $48,494
Associate1571,619$36,074$22,278 to $48,439
Bachelor's36210,430$50,497$33,717 to $70,128
Graduate certificate46116$65,116Not reported
Master's1173,100$75,972$53,409 to $104,151
Doctorate1598$78,108Not reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Radio, Television, and Digital Communication credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 54 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Northwestern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Evanston, IL · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
675 awards$116,019 median 4 years out
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
525 awards$77,109 median 4 years out
Towson UniversityPublic, 4-year · Towson, MD · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
302 awards$42,584 median 4 years out
Boston UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Boston, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
300 awards$55,804 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Bachelor's, Certificate, Graduate certificate
209 awards$45,555 median 4 years out
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
201 awards$40,972 median 4 years out
Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Bachelor's, Certificate
188 awards$50,279 median 4 years out
The New SchoolPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
178 awards$81,832 median 4 years out
Ball State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Muncie, IN · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
175 awards$47,737 median 4 years out
Kennesaw State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Kennesaw, GA · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
152 awards$47,723 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 649 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

188 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 09.07. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Web and Digital Interface DesignersComputer and mathematical$104,000113,330
Communications Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$78,58029,420
Producers and DirectorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$90,360143,120
Broadcast Announcers and Radio Disc JockeysArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$47,34021,240
News Analysts, Reporters, and JournalistsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$62,20039,250
Media and Communication Workers, All OtherArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$73,62019,590
Film and Video EditorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$75,42025,610
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.