Fields of study · Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies

Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies

CIP 05.02. 681 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 7,818 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate1382,473$57,315$42,576 to $75,239
Associate156704$38,387$25,727 to $49,177
Bachelor's4533,505$51,710$34,946 to $68,128
Graduate certificate118466$63,168$51,778 to $86,900
Master's102536$62,705$43,158 to $81,176
Doctorate41134$81,271$63,475 to $102,506
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 49 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Ohio University-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Athens, OH · Certificate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's
68 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Certificate, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
57 awards$67,431 median 4 years out
Oglala Lakota CollegePublic, 4-year · Kyle, SD · Associate, Bachelor's, Master's
53 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate
51 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Georgia State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Atlanta, GA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
49 awards$43,975 median 4 years out
University of IowaPublic, 4-year · Iowa City, IA · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Master's
48 awards$46,063 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 681 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

107 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 05.02. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$85,02011,300
Interpreters and TranslatorsArts, design, entertainment, sports, and media$60,17052,060
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.