Fields of study · History

History

CIP 54.01. 1,474 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 28,455 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate51592$53,929$35,388 to $82,082
Associate2392,381$38,929$24,440 to $54,994
Bachelor's1,24120,840$50,680$36,330 to $66,736
Graduate certificate82215$51,139$30,971 to $69,374
Master's3763,637$55,360$40,544 to $73,546
Doctorate157790$70,550$53,413 to $92,926
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded History credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 127 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Associate · Fully online option reported
567 awards$46,496 median 4 years out
Southern New Hampshire UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Manchester, NH · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
542 awards$49,113 median 4 years out
Brigham Young University-IdahoPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Rexburg, ID · Certificate, Associate, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
526 awardsProgram earnings not reported
American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Master's, Bachelor's, Associate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
381 awards$63,247 median 4 years out
Harvard UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Cambridge, MA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
224 awards$70,679 median 4 years out
Gettysburg CollegePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Gettysburg, PA · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
211 awards$52,904 median 4 years out
Yale UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New Haven, CT · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
198 awards$109,947 median 4 years out
Grand Canyon UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
167 awards$54,209 median 4 years out
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
146 awards$55,906 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
129 awards$48,896 median 4 years out
George Mason UniversityPublic, 4-year · Fairfax, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
124 awards$51,168 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Certificate, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
123 awards$54,448 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,474 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

502 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 54.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
HistoriansLife, physical, and social science$76,7503,450
History Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$83,82018,790
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
ArchivistsEducational instruction and library$64,5507,970
CuratorsEducational instruction and library$63,42012,150
Museum Technicians and ConservatorsEducational instruction and library$51,44012,310
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.