Fields of study · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Data Science

CIP 30.70. 323 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 7,156 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate44420Not reportedNot reported
Associate2152Not reportedNot reported
Bachelor's1892,023Not reportedNot reported
Graduate certificate58347Not reportedNot reported
Master's1164,283Not reportedNot reported
Doctorate1031Not reportedNot reported
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Data Science credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 50 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Eastern UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Saint Davids, PA · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
668 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of North TexasPublic, 4-year · Denton, TX · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
376 awardsProgram earnings not reported
New York UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · New York, NY · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
349 awardsProgram earnings not reported
New Jersey Institute of TechnologyPublic, 4-year · Newark, NJ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
209 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Maryville University of Saint LouisPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Saint Louis, MO · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
130 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Lewis UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Romeoville, IL · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
127 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Bellevue UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Bellevue, NE · Master's, Bachelor's · Fully online option reported
121 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Master's · Fully online option reported
107 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Worcester Polytechnic InstitutePrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Worcester, MA · Master's, Bachelor's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate · Fully online option reported
100 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Drexel UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
83 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Southern Methodist UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Dallas, TX · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
69 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 323 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

0 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 30.70. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Computer and Information Systems ManagersManagement$175,140670,570
Natural Sciences ManagersManagement$167,220108,690
Computer and Information Research ScientistsComputer and mathematical$140,30037,200
Database ArchitectsComputer and mathematical$139,50067,140
Software DevelopersComputer and mathematical$135,9801,687,890
StatisticiansComputer and mathematical$105,65029,030
Data ScientistsComputer and mathematical$120,230262,440
Postsecondary Teachers, All OtherEducational instruction and library$77,640149,840
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.