Fields of study · Health Professions and Related Programs

Medicine

CIP 51.12. 193 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 29,621 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Graduate certificate310$69,462$44,030 to $119,769
Doctorate19129,611$112,460$77,012 to $214,525
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Medicine credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 1 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Kansas City UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Kansas City, MO · Doctorate
425 awards$77,706 median 4 years out
Rowan UniversityPublic, 4-year · Glassboro, NJ · Doctorate
310 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Temple UniversityPublic, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Doctorate
298 awards$113,007 median 4 years out
Rocky Vista UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Parker, CO · Doctorate
260 awards$135,585 median 4 years out
Drexel UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Philadelphia, PA · Doctorate
254 awards$95,437 median 4 years out
Augusta UniversityPublic, 4-year · Augusta, GA · Doctorate
244 awards$99,481 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 193 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

138 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 51.12. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
PodiatristsHealthcare practitioners and technical$160,3009,680
AnesthesiologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$391,49038,760
CardiologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$496,01017,290
DermatologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$328,73011,370
Emergency Medicine PhysiciansHealthcare practitioners and technical$335,55032,880
Family Medicine PhysiciansHealthcare practitioners and technical$244,180107,510
General Internal Medicine PhysiciansHealthcare practitioners and technical$256,56067,150
NeurologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$248,56010,590
Obstetricians and GynecologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$292,91021,260
Pediatricians, GeneralHealthcare practitioners and technical$210,04039,390
Physicians, PathologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$312,40011,110
PsychiatristsHealthcare practitioners and technical$281,87027,980
RadiologistsHealthcare practitioners and technical$420,86026,770
Physicians, All OtherHealthcare practitioners and technical$265,930342,720
Ophthalmologists, Except PediatricHealthcare practitioners and technical$300,0808,950

3 more occupations are linked to this field.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.