Public, 4-year · Ames, IA

Iowa State University

Land-grantOnline programs reported

In this release25,367 undergraduates · 308 fields of study with reported awards. How to read these numbers

At a glance

The first facts to check

Updated August 23, 2026
Average net price
$18,589Aided students, per year
Completion rate
75%150 percent of normal time
Acceptance rate
89%Not a personal chance
Earnings 10 years after entry
$63,386System level, aided students
Campus setting
City: SmallInstitution location
School size
20,000 and aboveUndergraduate enrollment band
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Academic year 2021-22
Scope
Reported for this institution

Average net price for full-time beginning undergraduates who received Title IV federal aid. It is an average for one aid group, not a personal price.

Programs

Fields of study with reported awards

Browse all fields
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's · CIP 14.19 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
369 awards · $85,938 median 4 years out
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's · CIP 50.04 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
245 awards · $52,671 median 4 years out
MarketingBachelor's · CIP 52.14 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
245 awards · $66,482 median 4 years out
Animal SciencesBachelor's · CIP 01.09 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
231 awards · $51,644 median 4 years out
Computer EngineeringBachelor's · CIP 14.09 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
217 awards · $105,753 median 4 years out
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's · CIP 42.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
204 awards · $49,286 median 4 years out
Biology, GeneralBachelor's · CIP 26.01 · No credential in this field can be finished fully online
173 awards · $53,447 median 4 years out
Show the other 296 fields
HistoryBachelor's · CIP 54.01
61 awards
GeneticsBachelor's · CIP 26.08
36 awards
ForestryBachelor's · CIP 03.05
28 awards
PhysicsBachelor's · CIP 40.08
9 awards
PhysicsDoctorate · CIP 40.08
9 awards
MusicBachelor's · CIP 50.09
8 awards
HistoryMaster's · CIP 54.01
2 awards
HistoryDoctorate · CIP 54.01
1 awards
MarketingGraduate certificate · CIP 52.14
1 awards
PhysicsMaster's · CIP 40.08
1 awards

Awards conferred show what the school actually granted in the award year. A field with few awards can still be a full program, and a field listed here can change. Confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the school.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Cost and aid

Start with net price, not sticker price.

Net price is what aided students paid on average after grants and scholarships. It is one average for one group of students, so your own offer can be higher or lower. This school publishes a net price calculator, linked below.

Open the school's net price calculator →

Estimate a loan payment →

Average net price
$18,589
In-state tuition and fees
$10,787
Out-of-state tuition and fees
$28,881
Published cost of attendance
$24,018
Undergraduates with a Pell Grant
19%
Median federal debt of completers
$22,869

Completion and outcomes

Keep school and program outcomes separate.

Earnings figures cover students who received federal aid and are calculated at the system level, which means campuses that share an OPE ID can report the same number. They describe past students, not a promise about you.

Program-level earnings appear beside individual fields in the programs section.

Completion rate
75%
First-year retention
88%
Earnings 6 years after entry
$53,873
Earnings 10 years after entry
$63,386
Undergraduates with federal loans
43%

Admissions context

Use the numbers without pretending they know the decision.

Acceptance rate
89%
Applicants
22,995
Admitted
20,496
SAT middle range
1110 to 1350
ACT middle range
21 to 28

Suggested planning category

Needs reviewFrom reported data

  • No test score was shared, so score-based reasoning is not used.
  • Acceptance rate alone is not enough evidence for Realistic or Safe. Choose a category manually if you want one.

What this school says it considers

Secondary school GPA
Required to be considered for admission
Secondary school rank
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted
Secondary school record
Required to be considered for admission
Completion of college preparatory program
Required to be considered for admission
Recommendations
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Formal demonstration of competencies
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Admission test scores
Not required for admission, but considered if submitted (Test Optional)
English proficiency test
Required to be considered for admission
Other test
Not considered for admission, even if submitted (Test Blind)
Work experience
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Personal statement or essay
Not considered for admission, even if submitted
Legacy status
Not considered for admission, even if submitted

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle. Safe does not mean guaranteed. Admissions decisions depend on factors no public tool can fully predict.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Fall 2023 admissions cycle
Scope
Reported for this institution

Computed as reported admissions divided by reported applicants for the fall admissions cycle.

Institution facts

What kind of school this is

SettingCity: Small
Size band20,000 and above
Undergraduates25,367
Highest award offeredDoctor's degree
Carnegie classificationDoctoral Universities: Highest Research Activity
AccreditorHigher Learning Commission
CountyStory County
SystemIndependent or not reported

This school holds land-grant status, which shapes its research and extension work.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Coded values are printed with the labels published alongside the data for this release.

Online availability

Flags first, confirmation second

Every program offered fully at a distance
No
Undergraduate programs offered fully at a distance
Yes
Undergraduate distance courses
Yes
Fields where every credential can be finished online
2
Fields where some credentials can be finished online
25

Online availability is reported by the institution. Confirm the exact program, tuition, format, in-person requirements, and availability in your state before applying.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2024-25 academic year
Scope
Reported for this institution

Institution-reported flags. A flag is not confirmation that a specific program runs online in your state.

Reading the data

How to read the numbers on this page.

This page carries no CollegeLineup score and no editorial ranking. Every value is published data reported for a stated year and group of students, and each one opens to show its cohort, scope, and limits. When a value is not reported, the page says so instead of guessing.

  • Cost and outcome figures describe past students, not youYour own price and result depend on your family finances, your program, and your choices
  • Some values cover a whole system rather than this campusWhere that is true, the value says so beside it
  • A blank is a blankData updated August 23, 2026. A value nobody reported is never shown as a zero

Nearby and similar in size

Compare the next choice.

Other four-year schools in Iowa, ordered by how close their undergraduate enrollment is to this one.

Public, 4-year

University of Iowa

Iowa City, IA

22,264 undergraduates · 295 fields of study

Avg. net price
$22,531
Completion
75%
Acceptance
85%
Online programs reported
Compare University of Iowa

Private nonprofit, 4-year

Drake University

Des Moines, IA

2,543 undergraduates · 78 fields of study

Avg. net price
$29,127
Completion
74%
Acceptance
64%
Online programs reported
Compare Drake University