Fields of study · Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services

Criminal Justice and Corrections

CIP 43.01. 1,865 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 100,412 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate78826,173$57,702$39,878 to $76,285
Associate1,07121,964$46,706$31,475 to $63,659
Bachelor's92244,497$55,378$40,158 to $74,359
Graduate certificate89968$74,072$53,401 to $107,655
Master's3386,537$66,714$48,346 to $93,005
Doctorate40273$86,427$67,673 to $107,900
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Criminal Justice and Corrections credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 482 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Southern New Hampshire UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Manchester, NH · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
2,029 awards$61,027 median 4 years out
Rio Salado CollegePublic, 4-year · Tempe, AZ · Certificate, Associate
1,773 awards$60,390 median 4 years out
University of Phoenix-ArizonaPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Phoenix, AZ · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,359 awards$56,662 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Associate, Doctorate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
1,196 awards$61,715 median 4 years out
Purdue University GlobalPublic, 4-year · West Lafayette, IN · Bachelor's, Associate, Certificate, Graduate certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
1,044 awards$56,660 median 4 years out
Sam Houston State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Huntsville, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
921 awards$51,748 median 4 years out
Santa Ana CollegePublic, 4-year · Santa Ana, CA · Certificate, Associate
915 awards$48,682 median 4 years out
American Public University SystemPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Charles Town, WV · Bachelor's, Master's, Associate, Graduate certificate, Certificate · Fully online option reported
864 awards$69,546 median 4 years out
University of Virginia-Main CampusPublic, 4-year · Charlottesville, VA · Graduate certificate, Certificate, Master's · Fully online option reported
728 awardsProgram earnings not reported
East Los Angeles CollegePublic, 2-year · Monterey Park, CA · Certificate, Associate
713 awards$39,591 median 4 years out
Florida State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Tallahassee, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
620 awards$57,417 median 4 years out
University of Central FloridaPublic, 4-year · Orlando, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
530 awards$52,447 median 4 years out
Columbia Southern UniversityPrivate for-profit, 4-year · Orange Beach, AL · Bachelor's, Associate, Master's · Fully online option reported
499 awards$70,354 median 4 years out
Florida International UniversityPublic, 4-year · Miami, FL · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
470 awards$55,830 median 4 years out

Showing 24 of 1,865 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

1,343 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 43.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Emergency Management DirectorsManagement$93,33013,500
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Compliance OfficersBusiness and financial operations$80,730417,070
Financial ExaminersBusiness and financial operations$94,16067,830
Forensic Science TechniciansLife, physical, and social science$72,06019,120
Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All OtherLife, physical, and social science$62,28073,910
Child, Family, and School Social WorkersCommunity and social service$59,550392,550
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$76,59013,150
First-Line Supervisors of Correctional OfficersProtective service$77,97053,380
First-Line Supervisors of Police and DetectivesProtective service$106,040154,610
First-Line Supervisors of Security WorkersProtective service$55,94081,480
First-Line Supervisors of Protective Service Workers, All OtherProtective service$76,40020,690
BailiffsProtective service$56,60017,310
Correctional Officers and JailersProtective service$58,940380,500
Detectives and Criminal InvestigatorsProtective service$93,790114,430

5 more occupations are linked to this field.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.