Fields of study · Social Sciences

Geography and Cartography

CIP 45.07. 535 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 6,840 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate2341,685$58,705$43,831 to $74,025
Associate145363$53,052$32,625 to $67,503
Bachelor's2752,687$57,853$42,482 to $75,644
Graduate certificate145825$72,959$56,133 to $95,223
Master's1421,107$79,784$61,240 to $104,635
Doctorate56173$86,469$68,140 to $110,033
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Geography and Cartography credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 68 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Oregon State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Corvallis, OR · Certificate, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
123 awardsProgram earnings not reported
University of Wisconsin-MadisonPublic, 4-year · Madison, WI · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
105 awards$59,424 median 4 years out
University of FloridaPublic, 4-year · Gainesville, FL · Certificate, Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate, Bachelor's
95 awards$67,276 median 4 years out
University of DenverPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Denver, CO · Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
94 awards$85,219 median 4 years out
University of ArizonaPublic, 4-year · Tucson, AZ · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate, Certificate
90 awards$80,622 median 4 years out
University of UtahPublic, 4-year · Salt Lake City, UT · Certificate, Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate
86 awards$54,757 median 4 years out
Northwest Missouri State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Maryville, MO · Master's, Graduate certificate, Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
85 awards$55,656 median 4 years out
Appalachian State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Boone, NC · Certificate, Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
75 awards$50,551 median 4 years out
Texas A&M University-College StationPublic, 4-year · College Station, TX · Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Master's, Doctorate · Fully online option reported
71 awards$65,228 median 4 years out
Texas State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Marcos, TX · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
65 awards$60,646 median 4 years out
University of Southern CaliforniaPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Los Angeles, CA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
61 awards$83,256 median 4 years out
Kennesaw State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Kennesaw, GA · Bachelor's, Certificate · Fully online option reported
57 awards$53,044 median 4 years out
San Diego State UniversityPublic, 4-year · San Diego, CA · Bachelor's, Master's, Doctorate, Graduate certificate
55 awards$58,004 median 4 years out
University of GeorgiaPublic, 4-year · Athens, GA · Certificate, Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate, Doctorate
50 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 535 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

145 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 45.07. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Managers, All OtherManagement$141,900622,190
Cartographers and PhotogrammetristsArchitecture and engineering$81,39014,260
Surveying and Mapping TechniciansArchitecture and engineering$54,24058,010
GeographersLife, physical, and social science$102,0401,400
Geography Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$97,5903,330
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.