Fields of study · Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences

Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General

CIP 19.01. 116 colleges reported awards in this field, totaling 2,196 awards in the latest award year.

Award levels

Where this field is awarded, and what graduates earned

Earnings are national medians for graduates of this field at this level, measured four years after they finished, among students who received federal aid and were working. They describe past graduates across all schools, not one school and not you.

LevelCollegesAwardsMedian earningsMiddle range
Certificate879Not reportedNot reported
Associate19168$37,705$26,464 to $47,024
Bachelor's831,685$48,460$34,712 to $63,003
Graduate certificate821Not reportedNot reported
Master's28202$60,397$47,628 to $78,069
Doctorate741$80,463$66,031 to $112,588
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
Most recent reported cohorts
Scope
Reported for this field of study

National median earnings for this field and credential level, 4 years after completion, across every institution that awards it.

Colleges

Colleges that awarded Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General credentials

Listed by awards conferred in the latest award year, which shows size rather than quality. A larger program is not a better program. 14 of these colleges report at least one credential in this field that can be finished fully online.

Texas Tech UniversityPublic, 4-year · Lubbock, TX · Bachelor's, Master's · Fully online option reported
324 awards$56,117 median 4 years out
Montana State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Bozeman, MT · Bachelor's, Master's, Graduate certificate
145 awards$52,702 median 4 years out
Shasta CollegePublic, 4-year · Redding, CA · Associate, Certificate
108 awardsProgram earnings not reported
Iowa State UniversityPublic, 4-year · Ames, IA · Master's, Bachelor's, Graduate certificate
35 awards$51,531 median 4 years out
Liberty UniversityPrivate nonprofit, 4-year · Lynchburg, VA · Bachelor's
21 awardsProgram earnings not reported

Showing 24 of 116 colleges. Filter the full directory by this family →

48 of these programs have a published earnings figure. The rest are suppressed or not reported, usually because too few graduates were in the cohort to publish safely. A blank is not a low number.

Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
2023-24 award year
Scope
Reported for this field of study

Awards conferred in this field and at this level during the award year.

Related work

Kinds of work this field leads toward

These occupations are commonly linked to CIP 19.01. Wages are national medians across everyone in the occupation, not just recent graduates of this field, and they are not a placement record. Many people in these jobs studied something else.

OccupationGroupMedian wageEmployed
Family and Consumer Sciences Teachers, PostsecondaryEducational instruction and library$75,8702,770
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical EducationEducational instruction and library$72,0401,065,210
Farm and Home Management EducatorsEducational instruction and library$60,2208,220
Year, scope, and limits
Cohort or year
May 2025
Scope
Reported for this occupation, nationally

National median wage across all workers in the occupation, not only recent graduates of one field. Wages vary by state, industry, and experience. A wage at or above 239,200 dollars a year is published only as at or above that figure.

Nearby fields

Limits

What this page cannot tell you

  • Awards conferred describe last year's graduates. A program can start, change, or close, so confirm the exact program, level, and start term with the college.
  • Earnings vary by state, employer, and role. One median hides a wide spread.
  • Program availability does not mean the program is offered every term or in your state.
  • Nothing here is a chance of admission or a promise of a job.